Handy trick for setting up new website

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi all -

suppose you are working on a new website, but one of the following conditions exist (as it always does)

1) you just purchased the name and are waiting for it to propagate
2) you are migrating a website to a new server but you really should test it first

on windows, look for this file:

C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts

simply go into this file with your favorite editor (like notepad), and enter your IP number and domain name. for example, I might enter:

69.10.48.25 MarksLameWebsite.com
69.10.48.25 www.MarksLameWebsite.com

then, on my computer (and ONLY on my computer), http://MarksLameWebsite.com appears to be a live website!

NOTE - dont forget to remove this entry from your hosts file!

Wiseword

Thanks for sharing, it's a nice trick and can come in handy. Anyway, I am pretty new to this hosting things, so sorry for my stupid question. Would the trick work no matter wherever you put your website files on your computer?

Quags

Administrator
Staff member
This is a great suggestion. What this does is "tricks" your computer into thinking a domain name points to a particular ip. The above example is for windows, but the same can be done on linux by editing /etc/hosts. I believe MacOS also uses /etc/hosts.

I use this for testing websites before an IP change over is done, or during dns propagation where I can not see the domain name on the new IP.

Generally using this trick your website files are on a remote system, just the domain name is not pointing to that IP. It would be possible to use 127.0.0.1 to point a domain to your own computer/system but a webserver is required.

Would the trick work no matter wherever you put your website files on your computer?