Looking to Move to Interserver ...

Tim Caviness

But I have some questions first.

I'm mainly a designer that also hosts, but I'm taking on a few large php/mysql projects to be ready for beta testing in 2-3 weeks. My current server will not handle the load, and they've kind of ticked me off as of late. I started looking at cloud options but your page explaining cloud-vs-vps got my attention. Cloud really is the same thing as a VPS with hardware redundancy. So I scoured the web looking for VPS servers that would allow me to upgrade my package little by little.

Again, Interserver was near the top in offerings. I narrowed it to three choices (the other two will not be mentioned), and after lurking your new forums, I chose you. I'm big on service; that's how I sell my customers on working with me ... and Quags, you seem to be big on it too. Just wanted you to know that what you're doing works.

Happy customers lead to *newer* happy customers.

On to the questions ... some may be redundant, but I've scoured so many sites in the last day and a half (after spending a day recovering from an Apache nightmare that corrupted 3 mysql databases) ... that I'm tired of looking.

1) You offer an upgrade of an extra IP. I think this is what I need (2 IPs). Here's my situation, and you tell me if I'm thinking right or I need to switch to stronger coffee. I've had trouble with spammers brute-hacking email passwords, and occasionally dropping an email script through sql injection or some other means, and sending out SPAM through my VPS. This causes spamd to crash and that alerts me to go looking for them. It also gets my IP rightfully blacklisted on spamcop, spamhaus, and other RBLs.