What do you use the cloud for?

sanders89

I am pretty new to all of this, and I have not used the cloud yet, I have only just heard about it. So I want to hear what you yourself use it for? Do you use it for everything you do on your computer, for your photographs? For your music and documents? I don't know what I would use it for, and I would love to hear from someone that uses the cloud currently. Thank you!

antha1

Pretty complex question my friend.

I use it for almost everything nowadays. And, chances are you are using it as well - but you have not termed it "cloud" yet. Below are 10 different ways I use cloud in my daily life..

1. My daily emails are through gmail / yahoo. The service is completely taken care by others, I don't have much control over servers, and I don't like to have any control other than securely using my email

2. I host my websites on the cloud. I use shared hosting services, and Amazon Web Services

3. I sometimes do hobby, simple programming on Code Anywhere. But it has a long way to go before becoming my "go to" choice for programming.

4. I use office applications on Google Docs. It makes it easier to share my work, and create documents as a team effort

5. I store all my backups (documents, photos, video clips) on Dropbox.com, Box.com, and Skydrive (a.k.a onedrive)

6. I use Zoho applications to store my customer records. It makes it easier to maintain records, and then some

7. I use asana.com, and trello.com for my project management needs

8. I do my business financial planning on cloud (mint.com)

9. I play online games - you can say they "run" on the cloud

10. Lastly, I use a number of applications out there without even thinking twice about whether it is in Cloud!
- bubbl.us for creating mind maps
- pixlr.com for simple edits of photos
- collate all my reading materials online through Feedly.com reader
- store passwords on cloud - lastpass.com